Crank up the volume: Chrome, Chrome OS get Play Music uploads in the browser

Gigaom

Chromebook(s goog) owners no longer need a PC(s msft) or Mac(s aapl) to upload tunes to their Google Play Music account. Google added new Labs features to Play Music on Wednesday and one supports music uploads directly through the browser. A new mini-player is available as well, and all of the new Labs add-ons were built using Google’s Chrome Apps and Native Client technology.

Google Music chrome upload

As a full-time Chromebook owner, I immediately enabled the features and ran them through a quick test drive. I downloaded an album from my Amazon(s amzn) MP3 account that I didn’t have on Google’s servers and added it to a local Music folder that I created on my Chromebook. In the new Google Play Music client, I hit the Add Music button and selected my locally stored music which then was immediately shot up to the cloud. It took Google a few seconds to process…

View original post 103 more words

Leave a Reply

